Education System in India, Different level of Education System

Education System in India, Different level of Education System

Education System in IndiaThe Education System in every country has its model. Some of the countries have marked education as mandatory. India is a country where education is compulsory for 6-14 year children under the 86th amendment 2002. Here in this article, I am going to share with you the complete details about the Education System in India and will complete information from the ground level. There are different level of the Indian education system in India that works as a tradition. Check out the article below to get information about Indian Education System. It is going to be interesting to learn the history of Indian Education System.

Education System in India, Different level of Education System

Education System in India, the history of Indian Education System:

In ancient time, India has a Gurukula system for education. A person who want education and want to grab some knowledge, They used to go to the “Guru” Home and request the Guru to teach them, and if Guru accepted them, they get the education. By the Guru, they only get the education regarding all religion and some basic things like Mathematics and Metaphysics etc. They get complete knowledge about life, nature and changing weather etc.

This was a traditional way of Education System in India. It all depended on the GURU. If Guru didn’t accept you, there was no other way to get an education. Following time changes and in the year 1830, Lord Thomas Babington brings the Modern school system in India for education. The “Modern” term was modern. In this, All the person to wished to take education were allowed to take. In this modern school, there was mathematics, Science and Philosophy etc. It worked so well, and now it needed to be recognized. This system ran for around 100 years and there were some changes made in this, but the basic structure was the same.

After 1920 (Indian Education System):-

Later in the year 1921, Board of High School and Intermediate Education was the first Board set up in Uttar Pradesh India by the Judriction of Rajputana, Gwalior. After independence, it changed to Central board of secondary education in the year 1952.

Before the formation of the Republic of India, only upper caste people were allowed to take education like General caste people. After the establishment of the country under the new constitution, it changed, and now it is in our fundamental rights. We all have rights to education. Many things have changed after independence, and we have got a better lifestyle.

There are many phases of the education system. Earlier the education till class 10th used to be enough but as Science developed. Many new subjects added and many new courses added. After the history of Indian Education System, Now let’s see the details about the Different level of Indian Education System.

Different Level of Education System in India:

The Indian education system is divided into four sections in India according to the age group. Here is the level of education called the:

  • Primary Education
  • Secondary Education
  • Senior Secondary Education
  • Higher Education
  • Distance Learning etc
  • Home Schooling etc.
Primary Education: 

Primary school is basically about the basic things like a common Mathematics problem, basics things of science and its relation with nature etc. The education of class 1st to class 5th is called primary school.

Secondary Education:

Once you get used of these things, You will move to the class 6th, and class 6th to 8th is called Secondary education. Now onwards you may have to study in deep about the science and Scientific researches, Mathematics and all other subjects etc. The middle stage (Secondary) of education covering 3-4 years of academic study is formed by 5th-8thclass consisting of students aged between 12 to 14 years. The schools which impart education up till 8th class are known with various names like – High School, Senior School etc. The names may vary as state wise. Some say it Middle stage and so on etc., but the Structure of education is the same.

Some of the states/UTs which follow 5th -7th class of middle stage are Assam, Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Kerala, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu, Lakshadweep etc. Some of the states/UTs which follow 6th -8th class of middle stage are Arunachal Pradesh, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Delhi etc.

Senior Secondary Education System in India:

You will move to the class 9th, and class 9th to 12th is called as the higher Secondary Education or also called as the senior secondary schools once you complete this. You have to select a particular field to study further, and that is called Higher Education.

Higher Education: 

Here you will need to select one stream like Science, Commerce, Arts or whichever you like. You will get an education about that particular subject for three years. And you will be awarded the Bachelor degree and if you want to go more in-depth about that Subject. You can do master and PHD in that Subject.

Distance Learning or Home Scholing: 

These both are pretty much similar to each other. The distance learning education is newly launched course in India. It is especially for the person who can not join the regular classes at schools or colleges, they can join the distance learning programs. You can have any course at an advance level to get graduated or postgraduate etc.

Home Schooling is also similar to this but this is only for the class Senior Secondary Education. They can have their schooling done from Home. These types of alternative education system give a chance to study to the handicapped or those who are unable to attend regular school.

These are the ways to get an education in India. everything is getting modern and things are also changing day by day. Now, most of the colleges/Universities conduct online classes.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top